European Commission appoints Rotterdam and 5 other cities as iCapital winners

Six winners in the race for the innovation capital of Europe

On Wednesday, September 11, the European Commission named Rotterdam as one of the six iCapital winners. The other winners are Antwerp (BE), Bristol (UK), Espoo (FI), Glasgow (UK), Nantes (FR) and Rotterdam (NL). The winners receive 100,000 euros in prize money. During the official ceremony that will take place during the European Research and Innovation Days on 25 September in Brussels, Commissioner Moedas will reveal the European Capital of Innovation 2019 city. In addition to the award, the innovation capital will receive a million euros to to scale up the local innovation activities.

On the website of the European Commission: “In Rotterdam innovation is a way to achieve sustainability. Known for its harbour, Rotterdam is conscious of the ecological pressure on today’s society and launched numerous actions to improve the sustainability and new economies of the city. From the recuperation of disadvantaged areas across the city, to the support of startups and creative industries within the Makers’ District, or the ambition to make its port – the largest in Europe – the most sustainable in the world.”